Bhagavad Gita- Chap 10 (Part-1) Vibhooti Yogah- Yoga of the Divine Manifestations

ahamaatmaa gudaakesha sarvabhootaashayasthitah
    ahamaadishcha madhyam cha  bhootaanaamanta eve cha // 10.20 //

I  am the Self, O Gudakesa, seated in the hearts of all beings; I am the  beginning, the middle and also the end of all beings.

The  Lord tells Arjuna `I am the Self that exists in the heart of all beings'. This  general statement is the sum and substance of His entire talk in Gita. He  specifically tells that He is the birth, life and death of all beings. The  world is a living whole, a vast inter connectedness, a cosmic harmony inspired  and sustained by the One Supreme.

If  one is unable to meditate on the Lord as the Self, then one should think of Him  in the various beings and things enumerated in the following verses as a  special manifestation of the Godhead, for the Lord is the essence of all the  things

aadityaanaamaham vishnur jyotishaam  raviramshumaan
    mareechirmarutaamasmi nakshatraanaamaham  shashee // 10.21 //

Among  the (twelve) Adityas I am the Vishnu ; among the luminaries, the radiant sun; I  am Marichi among the winds; among the stars I am the moon.

Adityas  are Gods representing the twelve months of the year. Vishnu is considered the  most important among them. Maruts are the gods controlling the winds. The  twelve Adityas, luminaries like Agni, Lightning, the Maruts, the Stars etc. are  the ordinary manifestations of The Lord. Vishnu, Marichi, the sun and the moon  are his special manifestations and hence they have greater splendor in them.

While  the Supreme is in all things, He is more prominent in some than in others.  There is an ascending order in the world. God is more revealed in life than in  matter, in consciousness than in life and in saints and sages than in others.  Within the same order, He is most revealed in the pre-eminent individuals.

In  all these verses of this Chapter Sri Krishna supplies the seekers with various  items of thought (names and forms) over which The Lord can be superimposed for  deeper and single-pointed meditation.

vedaanaam saamavedo'smi devaanaamasmi  vaasavah
    indriyaanaam manashchaasmi bhootaanaamasmi  chetanaa // 10.22 //

Among  the Vedas I am the Sama Veda; I am Vaasava among the Gods; among the senses I  am the mind and I am the intelligence among living beings.

Sama  Veda - It is the essence of Rig Veda which is the most important of all the  four Vedas. Sama Veda has the additional characteristic of musical beauty with  tunes, melody and rhythm. Sri Krishna is the Infinite Essence tuned to music as  Rig Veda mantras are in Sama Veda.

Vaasava  - The king of gods, Indra. The Self is as Indra among the Gods, ruling over the  others, controlling, directing and organizing the lives.

Mind  - Indra also means the king of sense organs, the latter being the Devas. Mind  is the controller without which sense organs cannot have the power of  functioning.

Intelligence  - Of all the creations in the world intelligence is the mysterious power which  is still beyond comprehension. It is that which illumines all from the  intellect down to the grossest physical object.

rudraanaam shankarashchaasmi vittesho  yaksharakshasaam
    vasoonaam paavakashchaasmi meruh  shikharinaamaham // 10.23 //

And  among the Rudras I am Sankara; among the Yakshas and Rakshasas Kubera, the Lord  of wealth; among the Vasus I am Pavaka, Agni; and among the mountains I am the  Meru.

Rudras  - Deities of destruction. Destruction is a necessary precedent for construction  just as the seed must perish to enable the plant to come out. Sankara is the  deity for creative destruction.

Pavaka  - Vasus are the deities presiding over the seasons. The six external seasons  get colored by two internal seasons viz. joy and sorrow and all of these can be  experienced only through Consciousness within.

Meru  - A mythological mountain believed to be the centre of the Universe from which  Ganga (Spiritual Knowledge) flows in all four directions to bless the humanity.

purodhasaam cha mukhyam maam viddhi  paartha brihaspatim
    senaaneenaamaham skandah sarasaamasmi  saagarah // 10.24 //

And,  among the household priests, O Partha, know Me the chief, Brihaspati; among the  generals, I am Skanda; among the lakes, I am the ocean.

Brihaspati  - The spiritual teacher for the celestials. Skanda- Son of Siva the peacock  rider and the wielder of the spear. Ocean - It is the source of all rivers  because from it the evaporation of water takes place to flood the rivers.  Similarly the sentient and insentient things and beings of the world cannot  exist but for the Infinite Ocean of Truth, The Lord.

maharsheenaam bhriguraham  giraamasmyekamaksharam
    yajnaanaam japayajno'smi sthaavaraanaam  himaalayah // 10.25 //

Among  the great sages I am Bhrigu; among words I am the one syllable"OM";  among sacrifices I am the sacrifice of silent repetition (Japa Yoga); among  immovable things the Himalayas.

Bhrigu  - He is the chief of the seven rishis. One syllable `OM' - It indicates the  Eternal and Infinite. Japa Yoga - It is the repetition of the mantra or divine  name by maintaining the same divine thoughts. Japa Yagna is regarded as the  best of all Yagnas because it involves the unbroken remembrance of the Self. The  Himalayas - It is great because it is the highest in the world and provides  spiritual advancement to the seekers.

Receive Site Updates