Meditation on the Upanishads

  • By Swami Shraddhananda
  • May 17, 2018

We shall study the Upanishads, not from the beginning to the end, but covering some of the important themes. Taking each Upanishad one by one, we will find that each one has its own specific theme. We shall read certain passages and try to study them deeply. The Upanishads are statements of the deep facts of spiritual experience. In these passages, the deepest experiences cannot be communicated by words, but the sages of the Upanishads have tried to take our mind to the actual experiences. The object of our study is not academic discussion, but to understand deeply so that our study is practical and helpful in our spiritual experience. We have to go to the depth of these truths.

Class 1: Brahman is Eternal Truth and Knowledge

Class 2: Question: ‘Who am I?’

Class 3: Brahman is Present Always, Everywhere

To read Part 1 in PDF format.

Class 4: The Five Koshas, Walls of the Self

Class 5: The Annamaya Kosha

Class 6: The Pranamaya Kosha 

To read Part 2 in PDF format.

The article was first published in the April 2018 issue of Prabuddha Bharata, monthly journal of The Ramakrishna Order started by Swami Vivekananda in 1896. This article is courtesy and copyright Prabuddha Bharata. I have been reading the Prabuddha Bharata for years and found it enlightening. Cost is Rs 180/ for one year, Rs 475/ for three years, Rs 2100/ for twenty years. To know more

Receive Site Updates